Young Professional Award

JPRO Young Professional Award

Recognizing the Achievements of Outstanding Young Professionals in the Jewish Community

The JPRO Network Young Professional Award provides premier recognition of extraordinary young talents, nominated by their colleagues, who are dedicated to professional careers in the Jewish community. The award provides a 10-day educational seminar to Israel with a focus on the network of social services, Jewish identity and peoplehood, exploring innovative programming and redefining relationships. The award was established through a generous endowment created by The Andrea and Charles Bronfman Philanthropies.

Previous Young Professional Award Winners:

Kate Belza O’Bannon and Arya Marvazy
Roey Kruvi and Jacob Baime
Julie Finkelstein and Rabbi Abbi Sharofsky
Kim Kaplan and Mordy Walfish
Ira J. Dounn and Sheila Katz
Aliza Craimer Elias and Jakir Manela
Mindy Eklove and Daniel Septimus
Sarah Eisenman and Shauna Waltman
Eva Stern and David Cygielman
Zhanna Beyl and Ruthie Warshenbrot
David Michaels, Naomi Leah Sage and Cara Unowsky
Edward M. Bruckner and Shoshannah D. Frydman
Alisha Goodman, Ilana Aisen and Alyssa Abrahamson
Amy Wagner Biloon, Lisa Colton and Leonard Petlakh
Melanie Kohler Levav and David Rosenberg

The JPRO Network Young Professional Award was preceded by the Kraft Award, named in honor of Louis Kraft, for his exemplary work in Jewish communal service. The award began in 1972 and continued until 1995.

The Kraft Award:

Louis Kraft, born in 1891 in Moscow, Russia, became a model for his work in the Jewish communal profession. After serving as Executive Director of the Bronx YM & YMHA, Kraft became involved in the Jewish Welfare Board (JWB) where he rose to become the Executive Director of the organization. In 1947, Kraft helped establish the World Federation of YMHAs and Jewish Community Centers and has often been referred to as “the architect of the Jewish community center movement.” Click here to view past Kraft Award recipients.